About ACOM

Thursday, 06 February 2014 00:10

Mission Statement

Written by


“The purpose of the Church of Melanesia is to be a faithful part of Christ's body through the exercising of baptismal ministries, spreading of the Good News of God's love in Jesus Christ, being like Christ in thought, word and action, worshiping God in spirit and truth and demonstrating God's love in responding to hu­man needs in loving service, using wisely and taking good care of the natural resources and environment as well as all things that God has entrusted to us for the extension of God’s kingdom in the world.”.


“Eim blong umi hemi fo stap olsem strong pat blong Bodi blong Jisas Kraest fo usim olketa ministry blong Baptism: Olsem spredim Gud Nius blong lav blong God long Jisas Kraest; fo stap olsem Kraest long tingting, toktok an akson; fo wosipim God long tru we an wetem hol hat; an fo somaot lav blong God long waka fo helpem pipol"

Monday, 27 January 2014 16:16

About us

Written by

The Anglican Church of the Province of Melanesia is part of the World Wide Anglican Communion that has nine dioceses that include two (2) in Vanuatu and part of New Caledonia and seven (7) in the Solomon Islands. The current Primate and Archbishop who is also the bishop of the Diocese of Central Melanesia is the Most Reverend David Vunagi.

The spiritual head of the Province is the Archbishop of Melanesia.

The General Secretary is the Chief Executive Officer. The current General Secretary is Dr. Abraham Hauriasi.

The dioceses except for Central Melanesia (Honiara area) and Hanuato'o are divided into regions, each headed by a Senior Priest. The regions are further subdivided into Parishes or Districts headed by a Parish Priest usually called a rector. Catechists are lay people appointed by local community and authorized by the bishop to take services and look after the spiritual life of a village.

The Church of Melanesia holds three orders of ministry – deacon, priest and bishop. The church follows a Common Prayer Book called A Melanesian English Prayer Book.

The teaching of the church is on the life and resurrection of Jesus Christ, summed up in the Apostle’s Creed and the Nicene Creed. Holy Eucharist sometimes called “Mass” or Communion service is the focus of the church worship that is celebrated weekly wherever there is priest.

More about the Church do consult the church Canon and other materials on our resources page.