English French
You are here:Dioceses & Bishops Diocese of Ysabel Anglican Church of Melanesia - Diocese of Ysabel
Wednesday, 23 March 2016 08:27

My Vision for the Diocese of Ysabel.

In the words of Paul, the church is the foundation of hope, justice and love. It is the place where repentance and forgiveness is found and received. Thus, in the light of the Church Mission Statement, I would like the people and the Church in the diocese of Ysabel to be saved.

Thursday, 28 August 2014 20:50

The Diocese of Ysabel (DOY) has successfully completed their 14th Diocesan synod held at the head quarters Jejevo.

The synod runs from 16th to 21st August 2014.

Bishop Sam Sahu delivered the Keynote address to this big day and Bishop Ben Seka was the preacher. Bishop Sahu and Bishop Seka attended and took part in the official opening of this synod becasue the Diocese of Ysabel, Malaita and Central Solomons are partner dioceses.

Bishop of the Diocese, Bishop Richard Naramana also presented his charge as a Bishop of the diocese.

Click Speeches & Sermons,should you wish to read the Key note address and the Bishop's charge to this 14th Diocesan Synod.

Monday, 27 January 2014 13:58

The Diocese of Ysabel (DOY) was inaugurated on the 1st of March 1975 at Jejevo Primary School after which the Diocesan Synod was held.

The first Diocesan Bishop was the late Sir Duddley Tuti. He was made an Assistant Bishop of the then Diocese of Melanesia in 1963. When the Diocese of Melanesia became a Province of its own from New Zealand, His Grace John Wallace Chisholm became the Arch Bishop and Bishop Duddley Tuti became the first Diocesan Bishop in 1975. He retired in 1980


Diocesan Bishop

  1. Sir Duddley Tuti 1963 – 1974 Assistant Bishop
  2. Sir Ellison Pogo 1981 – 1994 Diocesan Bishop
  3. The Rt Rev. Walter Siba 1995 – 1999 Diocesan Bishop
  4. The Rt Rev. Zephaniah Legumana 2000 – 2003 Diocesan Bishop
  5. The Rt Rev Canon Richard Naramana 2004 - September 2015
  6. The Rt Rev Ellison Quity 2016 - Current

There are four Regions or Deaneries in the diocese of Ysabel. The four Senior Priests or Archdeacons look after the four Regions.

The four Regions are;

  1. LAWE Region – Rev. Duddley Palmer (Senior Priest), 4 Parishes and 4 Districts
  2. JAMAKO Region – Rev. John Plant Bale (Senior Priest), 2 Parishes and 4 Districts
  3. TUVANO Region – Rev. Paul Neremana (Senior Priest), 8 Districts
  4. GAOMA Region – Rev. John Resi (Senior Priest) , 6 Districts

The diocesan headquarter is located at Jejevo, Buala, Isabel Province

Diocesan Contact;

Office Phone: +677 35011,

Email; This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.