Print this page
Friday, 21 February 2014 11:55

About the Diocese of Central Melanesia

Written by

The Diocese of Central Melanesia (DOCM) was the first dioceses in the Province of Melanesia that was formed in January 1975. She was the Mother diocese of DOT, DOH, DOCS and recently DOG.

Late John Chisholm was the first Bishop of the Diocese of Central Melanesia (DOCM) and also the first Archbishop of the Province of Melanesia in 1975. After his passing shortly after his appointment as Primate of the Province of Melanesia; Late Norman Palmer then became the second Bishop of the Diocese and also the Archbishop of the Province of Melanesia. Late Palmer holds the post from 1975 till 1987 when he was succeeded by Late Amos Waiaru who holds the top post from 1988 to 1994. In 1995 Late Sir Ellison Pogo became the Diocesan Bishop and the Archbishop of the Province of Melanesia until 2008. Then The Most Reverend David Vunagi holds the post from 2009 to September 2015

The current Archbishop elect, and the Bishop elect for DOCM who will be enthroned on the 17th of April 2016 at St. Barnabas Provincial Cathedral is The Rt Rev. George Takeli. He is the Bishop of Temotu before being elected to this post.

The DOCM is currently made up of six (6) Parishes namely: St. Barnabas, All Saints, St. Albans, Tuvaruhu Parish, Christ the King Parish and Vura Parish all with in the vicinity of Honiara.

There are eleven (11) stipendiary priests, ten (10) Non Stipendiary Priests and four (4) Deacons currently working in the diocese.


Diocesan Bishop & Archbishop 

The Most Reverend George Takeli

Diocesan Secretary

Mr. John Mark

P: +677 21435

VICAR General

Rev. Philip Rongota

P: +677 23382 / 21474

Last modified on Tuesday, 31 October 2017 19:47