English French
You are here:Diocese & Bishops Diocese of Ysabel About the Diocese of Ysabel
Monday, 27 January 2014 13:58

About the Diocese of Ysabel

Written by

The Diocese of Ysabel (DOY) was inaugurated on the 1st of March 1975 at Jejevo Primary School after which the Diocesan Synod was held.

The first Diocesan Bishop was the late Sir Duddley Tuti. He was made an Assistant Bishop of the then Diocese of Melanesia in 1963. When the Diocese of Melanesia became a Province of its own from New Zealand, His Grace John Wallace Chisholm became the Arch Bishop and Bishop Duddley Tuti became the first Diocesan Bishop in 1975. He retired in 1980


Diocesan Bishop

  1. Sir Duddley Tuti 1963 – 1974 Assistant Bishop
  2. Sir Ellison Pogo 1981 – 1994 Diocesan Bishop
  3. The Rt Rev. Walter Siba 1995 – 1999 Diocesan Bishop
  4. The Rt Rev. Zephaniah Legumana 2000 – 2003 Diocesan Bishop
  5. The Rt Rev Canon Richard Naramana 2004 - September 2015
  6. The Rt Rev Ellison Quity 2016 - Current

There are four Regions or Deaneries in the diocese of Ysabel. The four Senior Priests or Archdeacons look after the four Regions.

The four Regions are;

  1. LAWE Region – Rev. Duddley Palmer (Senior Priest), 4 Parishes and 4 Districts
  2. JAMAKO Region – Rev. John Plant Bale (Senior Priest), 2 Parishes and 4 Districts
  3. TUVANO Region – Rev. Paul Neremana (Senior Priest), 8 Districts
  4. GAOMA Region – Rev. John Resi (Senior Priest) , 6 Districts

The diocesan headquarter is located at Jejevo, Buala, Isabel Province

Diocesan Contact;

Office Phone: +677 35011,

Email; This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Last modified on Wednesday, 06 May 2020 10:27
More in this category: DOY 14th Diocesan Synod »